At the origin of the realizations Edition 1.6.9, the studio of creation of the house accompanies the professionals of decoration in the elaboration, the choice or the millimetricintegration of Rugs and carpets in their places of destination.

Composed of textile designers and colourists specialising in floor coverings who work on a daily basis under the direction of David and Olivier Aouate, the studio has a perfect command of the particularities and hazards of hand-knotted, hand-tufted and hand-woven fabrics, as well as all the codes of the craft repertoire for the creation of Rugs and luxury carpeting. He is thus able to translate the original designs, created by the in-house teams or commissioned by third parties, by opting for the most appropriate manufacturing technique(s). The choice of colours, materials and textures is also the secret to the creation of exceptional and exclusive pieces for exceptional floors.

design studio collab 01
design studio collab 02
design studio collab 03 2

Working session,
collab Nathalie Ryan

Having at heart to fully accompany its customers architects and interior designers, Edition 1.6.9 ensures, thereafter, a tailor-made follow-up which allows, through the calepinage or the slight reinterpretation of the drawings, to adapt perfectly the carpets and Rugs to the spaces for which they are intended. This joint and four-handed work with decorating professionals on furnishing projects is a guarantee of success and is finally at the origin of perennial collections to be discovered in the showroom.

Manufacturing techniques

A noble and ancestral technique, hand-knotting is the result of knowledge passed down from generation to generation. At the origin of Rugs of exception, mainly manufactured in Nepal, this method of manufacture is particularly appreciated with regard to the manual imprint naturally palpable on the parts, but also by the unequalled variety of materials, reasons and textures which it offers and which can cohabit within the same realization.

Made by hand, using a handloom requiring two to four people, Rugs and carpets produced using this technique are the witnesses of a thousand-year-old know-how. Manufactured mainly in India and Nepal, this traditional method guarantees exceptional quality.

Resulting from a spray gun, this handmade Rugs or carpet production on a gigantic canvas loom has the double advantage of knowing no limits in terms of size and being optimal in terms of delivery times. If it gives access to all types of materials, from silk to merino wool, through tencel, the technique allows to play with mastery on the textures and the differences of level in order to obtain a three-dimensional effect of the most remarkable.

design studio axminster 3

Axminster

Developed in the industrial era with the advent of mechanical looms, this technique is suitable for the creation of carpets for the luxury hotel industry. Axminster allows the creation of 16 different colours to create patterns, as well as the creation of textures and levels by working on overtuft.

design studio machine tuft 3

Tufted machine

The tufting process, which is based on a tufting machine, produces high quality plain or mottled carpets. It also allows the creation of tone-on-tone patterns through the use of textural effects.

À l’origine des réalisations édition 1.6.9, le studio de création de la maison accompagne les professionnels de la décoration dans l’élaboration, le choix ou encore l’intégration millimétrée des tapis et moquettes dans leurs lieux de destination.

Composé de designers textiles et coloristes spécialisés dans l’habillage des sols qui travaillent au quotidien sous la direction de David et Olivier Aouate, le studio maitrise parfaitement les particularités et aléas du noué-main, du tufté main, du tissé main, comme de tous les codes du répertoire artisanal de la création de tapis et moquette de luxe. Il est ainsi en mesure de traduire les dessins originaux, créés par les équipes maison ou commandés par des tiers, en optant pour la ou les techniques de fabrication les plus pertinentes. Préalable à toute réalisation, le choix des couleurs, des matières, des textures, est aussi le secret de la confection de pièces hors normes et exclusives pour des parterres d’exception.

design studio collab 01
design studio collab 02
design studio collab 03 2

Séance de travail,
collab Nathalie Ryan

Ayant à cœur d’accompagner pleinement ses clients architectes et décorateurs d’intérieur, édition 1.6.9 assure, par la suite, un suivi sur-mesure qui permet, par le biais du calepinage ou de la légère réinterprétation des dessins, d’adapter parfaitement les moquettes et tapis aux espaces auxquels ils sont destinés. Gage de réussite, ce travail conjoint et à quatre mains avec les professionnels de la décoration sur des projets d’aménagement, est enfin à l’origine de collections pérennes à découvrir au sein du showroom.

Techniques de fabrication

Technique noble et ancestrale, le noué-main résulte d’un savoir transmis de génération en génération. À l’origine de tapis d’exception, principalement fabriqués au Népal, cette méthode de fabrication s’apprécie particulièrement au regard de l’empreinte manuelle naturellement palpable sur les pièces, mais aussi par la variété inégalable des matières, des motifs et des textures qu’elle offre et qui peuvent cohabiter au sein d’une même réalisation.

Réalisés à la main, par l’intermédiaire d’un métier à bras nécessitant l’intervention de deux à quatre personnes, les tapis et moquettes issus de cette technique sont les témoins d’un savoir-faire millénaire. Fabriqués principalement en Inde et au Népal, cette méthode traditionnelle est garante d’une qualité exceptionnelle.

Résultant d’un travail au pistolet, cette fabrication main de tapis ou de moquettes sur un gigantesque métier canvas a le double avantage de ne connaître aucune limite en terme de dimension et d’être optimale en terme de délais de livraison. Si elle donne accès à tous types de matières, de la soie à la laine mérinos, en passant par le tencel, la technique permet de jouer avec maestria sur les textures et les différences de niveau afin d’obtenir un effet en trois dimensions des plus remarquables.

design studio axminster 3

Axminster

Mise au point à l’ère industrielle avec l’arrivée de métiers à tisser mécaniques, cette technique est propice à la réalisation de moquettes pour l’hôtellerie de luxe. L’Axminster permet, en effet, de jouer sur 16 coloris en vue de la création de motifs, mais aussi de créer des jeux de textures et de niveaux en travaillant sur de l’overtuft.

design studio machine tuft 3

Machine tufted

Offrant un rendement optimal, ce procédé issu de machines à tuft est à l’origine de moquettes unies ou chinées de grande qualité. Il permet, en outre, la création de motifs en ton sur ton grâce au travail sur des effets de textures.